Deutsche Gesellschaft für Arterioskleroseforschung e.V.

Thank you to all speakers, participants and sponsors

We would like to thank all speakers, participants and especially the sponsors for making this years annual convention a huge success.

Prof. Dr. Nikolaus Marx, Prof. Dr. Peter Libby and Prof. Dr. Ralf Kinscherf (l to r)

Your special thanks goes to your keynote speakers. Prof. Dr. Peter Libby from the Harvard Medical School in Boston gave a genuine talk about „New insights into the mechanisms of the acute coronary syndromes“, while Prof. Dr. Harry Hahmann took us through the 30-year-history of the German Atherosclerosis Society.

Prof. Dr. Harry Hahmann


Further, we would like to congratulate all laureates to excellent presentations on their research topics.

The laureates:

Prof. Dr. Ralf Kinscherf and Dr. Claudia Göttsch

Dr. Claudia Göttsch (Aachen) has been awarded the W.H.-Hauss-Prize for her work on „Sortilin mediates vascular calcification via its recruitment into extracellular vesicles„, which was published in the Journal of Clinical Investigation (J Clin Invest. 2016 Apr 1;126(4):1323-36). The prize was sponsored by our member Prof. Dr. Winfried März.

Prof. Dr. Ralf Kinscherf and Prof. Dr. Arnold von Eckardstein

Prof. Dr. Arnold von Eckardstein (Zurich) was honored with the Rudolf-Schönheimer-Medal for his lifetime achievement on „Transendothelial lipoprotein transport“ and his long lasting engagement with our society.


Prof. Dr. Ralf Kinscherf and  Maximilian Mauler

Maximilian Mauler (PhD-student, Freiburg) was awarded with the Gotthard-Schettler Young Investigator Award for his presentation on „Platelet serotonin aggravates myocardial reperfusion injury via degranulation“ (Abstract).

Prof. Dr. Hans Kaffarnik, Sabrina Markert, Katharina Pfeiffer and Prof. Dr. Ralf Kinscherf (l to r)


Katharina Pfeiffer (MD-student, Freiburg) received the  Eberhard-Betz-Prize for her outstanding poster presentation on „Atherosclerosis Progression and Regression Induced by LDLR Antisense Oligonucleotide in Mice“ (Abstract). This prize was sponsored by B. Braun Melsungen AG.

Alike, Sabrina Markert (PhD-student, Marburg) was awarded for her excellent poster presentation on the topic „Translational profiling in vivo for the study of glomerular vascular remodeling in kidney“ (Abstract) with the Hans-Kaffarnik-Prize. This prize was also sponsored by B. Braun Melsungen AG.

The clinical highlight of this years annual meeting was the joint session with the German Stroke Society (DSG) on the topic of „Atherosclerosis and Stroke“ and the joint session with the working group Heart and Diabetes from the German Cardica Society (DGK) on „the cardiovascular high-risk patient“.

Most pleasant was the participation of numerous clinical colleagues in both joint sessions, which showed spot on how closely related basic research in atherosclerosis and clinical implementation are. In the years to come we would like to put more emphasis on this thrilling dialog between basic research and clinic.

We are looking forward to next years meeting.

A. Zirlik

President-elect for the managing board


all pictures by Hans Schwarzbach


Dieser Artikel wurde am 08.05.2017 in der Kategorie Aktuelles, Annual Meeting, News veröffentlicht.